ADHD/autism

Hi.

I’ve had some hard couple of weeks, ever since we had a meeting in the kindergarten. They want to see if Nathaniel and Leon have ADHD or maybe even autism.

Personally I think they have ADHD, not autism. They are two happy kids with a lot of love for other people, and they care a lot. I’ve read a lot about autism in the last few weeks, and I don’t think they show any strong signs that’s typical for children with autism.

But I’ve been thinking for quite some time that they might have ADHD. There are many in my family with ADHD, and premature children have a bigger chance of getting it than “normal” children.

As if twins wasn’t hard enough… Twins with ADHD takes parenting to a whole new level. But – I’ve made it so far (more or less), and I think I will do fine.

They don’t have a diagnosis yet, but I’m pretty sure there is something.

They have a lot of anger, and they are extremely hyperactive. They rarely sit still for more than 2 minutes at a time, and they have an enormous need for attention. Negative or positive. They really drive me crazy sometimes, and I don’t always know how to handle them.

Bedtime have changed a lot since summer, and I rarely spend more than 30 minutes getting them to sleep. (unless I fall asleep myself, lol). I tickle their back and sing for about 10 minutes, and they’re sleeping like angels.

I’m actually looking forward to them being investigated for abnormalities, because I think it will be easier for me to raise them if I have the right knowledge. And I’m pretty sure that no matter what it is – I will handle it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “ADHD/autism

Leave a comment